

August 5, 2019

ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT APPOINTS ERWIN AS AT-LARGE CIRCUIT JUDGE IN EIGHTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

Justice Rita B. Garman and the Illinois Supreme Court have announced the appointment of Drew T. Erwin as an At-Large Circuit Judge in the Eighth Judicial Circuit.

Mr. Erwin is being appointed to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Mark A. Drummond on August 5, 2019.

The appointment takes effect on September 6, 2019, and will conclude on December 7, 2020, when the vacancy will be filled by the winner of the November 2020 general election.

"Mr. Erwin's wide range and length of experience uniquely qualify him for this appointment. The committee evaluated him as extremely well qualified, and the Court unanimously agreed. His strong communication skills will serve the citizens of the Eighth Circuit very well," Justice Garman said.

Justice Garman recommended the appointment to the full Court following a review of applicants by a six-person screening committee consisting of four non-lawyers and two lawyers who reside in the Eighth Judicial Circuit. The non-lawyer members of the committee were Reverend Orville Jones, Philip Krupps, and Will Spear, all of Quincy, and Ann Revis, of Pittsfield. The lawyer members of the committee included Jim Inghram of Quincy and Judge Diane Lagoski (retired) of Mount Sterling.

"I want to thank Justice Garman, the Supreme Court and the selection committee for the time and effort they put forth in the selection process," Erwin said. "I appreciate their confidence in selecting me to this most important position and I look forward to serving the residents of the Eighth Judicial Circuit."

Mr. Erwin has been the President at Drew T. Erwin, Ltd, his general practice law firm, since 1996. Previously, he was a partner at Leeper, Farha, & Erwin, PC. He has served as an Assistant Public Defender in Adams County and as an Assistant State's Attorney in the Adams County State's Attorney's Office.

Mr. Erwin earned his Bachelor of Arts degree from Westminster College and his *Juris Doctor* from The University of Tulsa College of Law.

The Eighth Judicial Circuit includes Adams, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Mason, Menard, Pike, and Schuyler counties.

(FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT: Chris Bonjean, Communications Director to the Illinois Supreme Court at 312.793.2323 or <u>cbonjean@illinoiscourts.gov</u>.)